Innovative Marine Aquariums

My first Saltwater aquarium!

Sean1123

Hey all,

This is my first build thread and my first Saltwater aquarium. I have decided to switch from a 2 gallon jar to a 5 gallon aquarium because I found that the jar is hard to see into because of the thickness of the glass. Here's a picture of the tank. I'll be getting my live rock and live sand from Tampa Bay Saltwater hopefully this weekend. Heres a picture and the stats:

5 gallon aquarium

ABI 12w LED light

Hydor 25w heater

Air pump (might get a real powerhead because of the larger water volume if you think it would be a good idea)

Proposed Livestock:

Live rock critters

3 blue legged hermit crabs

1 pom pom crab

Sexy shrimp

Zoanthids

Rodactus sp.

Candy cane coal or Duncan coral

Had trouble finding a top so I'm using plastic wrap for now 🙊

Sean

IMG_20180829_204801938.jpg

• Like 1

You will need a powerhead in 5g and the plastic wrap will inhibit gas exchange and won't hold up to the heat of the led. 

You can make a mesh lid with window framing from the hardware store. Tons of diy plans online.

• Thanks 1
48 minutes ago, Clown79 said:

You will need a powerhead in 5g and the plastic wrap will inhibit gas exchange and won't hold up to the heat of the led. 

You can make a mesh lid with window framing from the hardware store. Tons of diy plans online.

Alright thanks. Yeah I was going to get a real lid and power head before adding anything just didn't have anything in there yet

10 minutes ago, Clown79 said:

If you plan on corals, it's hard to run a light with a lid.

Is that because the top reflects the light? I'll look up some auto top off DIYs

1 hour ago, Sean1123 said:

Is that because the top reflects the light? I'll look up some auto top off DIYs