ReefCleaners.org

Help with cycling BioCube??

Madison989

I have my BioCube 32 set up and about a week ago I used dr tims one and only nitrifying bacteria along with dosing the tank with ammonium chloride. The ammonia was at around 3 ppm. Now it’s a week later and it hasn’t gone down much at all (2 ppm). My nitrites are also currently around 2 ppm. I have the heater around 84 and I have an air stone in the tank.

Any suggestions on how to speed up the process? Am I doing it right? How long is it supposed to take? Any advice would be appreciated!

From what I’ve researched, I’m supposed to wait until the ammonia has reached 0 ppm and then I dose the tank with some more? And then I keep doing that until it can go back to 0 within 12-24 hours?

Also, I am wondering how soon I can get invertebrates- after the tank is cycled, or can I get them sooner? There is no algae in my tank yet. 

Thanks so much! I am new to this!

Nano Nano Boo Boo

You’re well on your way, some tanks take a month or more to cycle. With your levels I think you will be done sooner. I would turn the head down a touch, and play the waiting game. You will see diatoms (brown patches) form on the sand when your cycle is nearing completion. When you see those you’re close to being able to add some clean up crews. 

Be as as patient as possible, I know it’s not easy. Cycling right will ensure a long and successful salt water journey. 

• Like 1
6 minutes ago, Nano Nano Boo Boo said:

You’re well on your way, some tanks take a month or more to cycle. With your levels I think you will be done sooner. I would turn the head down a touch, and play the waiting game. You will see diatoms (brown patches) form on the sand when your cycle is nearing completion. When you see those you’re close to being able to add some clean up crews. 

Be as as patient as possible, I know it’s not easy. Cycling right will ensure a long and successful salt water journey.