Top Shelf Aquatics

Nano 6-10 gallon Reef Tank Suggestions

kit-kat

Hi everyone!

So I'm not really a beginner (had a few tanks in the past), but I am beginning again, so I figured I'd post here.  Im looking to get a nano tank between 6-10 gallons. Why?

1) Small enough that I can do weekly water changes as the majority of maintenance without having to have massive buckets of water. I'm a pretty spindly female so keep water changes to 1-2 gallons is my goal so it's easy to move it all around. There will be no skimmer so I want these to be fairly significant changes. 

2) must have hood. I'm in Utah where it's crazy dry (20-30% humidity often, it's miserable) so evap is a major issue.  I also hate the light polution of a light hanging over the tank. It makes everything in the room blue ( or maybe my last tank lights were too beefy...).  Needs to be able to support softies and some lps.  

3) inhabitants not an issue. Just want a little colony of sexy shrimp and maybe a yellow clown goby if bioload permits. 

The Coralife 16 biocube is PERFECT except it's too big. To tall to fit where I want. I've been looking at the jbj 6 gal and that Cubeys. Sounds like the Cubeys are flimsey and break... Any other suggestions? Seems there are tons of new and changed tanks since I bought my 34 g six or so years ago...

Thank you!

I would recommend the IM Fusion 10, anyday - should fit your needs beside the light “issue”. You can get lights that hang on the rim and almost serve as a partial hood. 

Just so we have one thing clear, smaller tank does not necessarily mean a cheaper setup.

Considering your location, an ATO, chiller and temperature controller may be investments to look into.

Hmm that's a good point about the light as a mini hood. I could always get a piece of plexiglass to act as a lid too...  I've always wanted one of those little IM nuvos...