Cultivated Reef

Newbie here

Carla3079

Please help... New to Salt water... Not sure if I made the right decision or not.. so asking for your opinion.... Please be nice... 

16 biocube? Not sure how old or what brand... What do y'all think? 

Paid $50 ??? Good or bad?

No leaks.. working lights.. ect..

20180808_205145.jpg

20180808_205319.jpg

20180808_205145.jpg

• Like 1
Nano Nano Boo Boo

Great deal if functional! I have a 32 gallon Biocube and really enjoy it. Great beginners tank that runs pretty seamlessly. 

• Thanks 1
Nano Nano Boo Boo

All you really need now equipment wise is a heater. Sand and a few pounds of live rock and you’re well on your way. Welcome to the reef world!

• Thanks 1

Congrats on your first saltwater tank, and looks like you got a great deal. Not sure if it’s a Biocube 16... looks pretty different from mine, but maybe an earlier version? So excited for you just getting started. I started in the hobby in March and I love it. Welcome to the community. 

• Thanks 1

Welcome to the obsession! It looks like a Biocube, if it has LED's, but that's a guess. U might want to upgrade to a larger return pump, like an MJ900 or MJ1200 ( if it will fit), or maybe a Sicce (spelling?). Do lottsa research, especially if it's your first reef. Great people and info on this site, so pick our brains. We want you to succeed. 

• Thanks 1

Take it slow and ask questions. Are you planning on making a journal for the tank? Everyone loves to see tanks getting wet and progressing

• Thanks 1

Thanks so much y'all!! I'm definitely not rushing.... Got so much to learn! 

Hope I don't drive y'all crazy with all my questions....

So #2... LOL

What about a Rodi ? Is my tank (16 biocubeish 😉) to small for one? Do they all attach to the tanks and stay on it? I'm so confused about the Rodi's....

If I get one, what do y'all suggest?

I plan on using sand and purchasing live rock...

TIA!