SaltCritters.com

Handling zoa help please!!

Gaviota

Hi folks. I got a coral from a friend who made no mention of this being potentially dangerous. I was messing with the thing in the tank, used mostly tongs bit set it on the counter and carelessly went about arranging stuff. All kinds of cross contamination  I'm sure  Whet for help idenrifyomg it on here some one said it was a zoa maybe so I googled and and am freaking out that it could have poisoned me. I feel basically fine and was handling it about 5 hours ago, but I had it in the kitchen and have kids. How concerned do I need to be????

Kellie in CA

I'm kind of confused on the details. You put the zoa rock on the counter? If so, just clean the area really well and be sure to wash your hands after working in the tank. 

I have been handling zoas for 15+ years and have never had any problems. 

THis is a popular misconception. Not all true zoas are toxic, most of the colorful ones are actually typically safe. It’s usually the “button” polyps—palythoa, typically much bigger than zoas that can be potentially toxic. 

I concur with @Kellie in CA.  I also agree with her statement to always rinse hands before working in tank and wash hands afterwards. Definitely don’t use any tools you would eat with in your tank. 

Geez. "Thanks friend" you think she could have maybe given me some heads up! ??  obviously don't know anything about this other than I thought it could be a fun relaxing hobby. Wasn't aware I would be bringing a viper into my home! 

So this particular one doesn't appear to be the make you drop dead kind?

It appears to be a safe one. Don’t worry, many of us have worked for many years in reef aquaria without any major incident.  Just stay informed by asking questions just like you did. 🙂

Thank you guys! Won't do that again! Went OCD with bleach in the kitchen  im sure ill do the same tommorrow. I'll get a pic once it opens up hoping someone can ID the actual  variety. 

• Like 1