Coral Vue Hydros

Cycling dry rock with MicroBacter7 and ammonia drops

coral reefer tx

coral reefer tx

Looking for advice cycling dry rock with MicroBacter7 and Dr Tim’s Amomnia drops.   

Getting back into the hobby, and my prior reef tanks a few years ago were cycled with live rock – this is my first time starting with dry rock.   Also planning on using MicroBacter7 for bacterial seeding and may also use some Dr. Tim’s Ammonia Chloride.   Not planning on using frozen shrimp.

I can find lots of information about using Either a bacteria solution OR ammonia drops --  but I can’t find specific info regarding using the two together.  

MicroBacter7 instructions for New tanks say to add the product daily for two weeks.   So I’m planning on doing that.   But it also seems like it would make sense to kick off the cycle with ammonia drops also.   So I’m  tentatively planning on an initial dose of Dr. Tims.  And maybe a 2nd and 3rd dose of Dr. Tims over the next week.   Will add ammonia to get to 2 ppm but will stay below 5 ppm. 

FWIW, I’m soaking a 2 inch Brightwell BioBlock in a solution MicroBacter7 – and I’ll add that seeded brick to the back compartment.  

Also planning on at least 50% of my initial water to be from someone else’s established tank. 

Live sand.   I won’t rinse it, but  may drain off some of the milky stuff since I’ll be adding bacteria solution. 

So daily MicroBacter7 per instructions but also total 2-3 doses of Ammonia.    Any suggestions for my dry rock cycle plan?   Any links or suggestions would be helpful.  

Thank you.