Cultivated Reef

Advice on stocking 29g Biocube please!

Carrie B

Hello! 

I have a new (to me) 29g biocube that I'm super excited about stocking! It's a well-established reef tank, having been my LFS's counter display model for 2 years before I purchased it. It came with: 

-2.5" live sand substrate

-hella live rock (I don't know how many pounds)

-some coral

-2 nassarius snails

-1 blue-knuckle hermit crab

I've since added: 

-1 astrea snail

-yasha goby/candy cane pistol shrimp pair

Here are some fish I'd like to add. I think I should probably only add four more, so I need your help narrowing it down. TIA!!

Green clown goby

Banggai cardinalfish

True clownfish (or other peaceful, small variety)

Springeri damsel

Firefish goby

Firetail blenny

I'm also open to other suggestions! 

I would also like to add: 

-1 emerald crab

-1 fire shrimp

-1 cleaner shrimp

-1-2 turbo snails

Is that too large a cleanup crew for a 29g? 

Thanks again!!!

PS I am VERY new to the hobby and won't be insulted by any "obvious" advice.

• Like 1
A Little Blue

Firetail seems like very interesting idea. 

Could be aggressive to other fish with similar shape. 

Always liked Springeri Ds. Good working fish. If you ever get flatworms, he is the guy to fix that problem. 

Other fish on your list are typical nano fish. 

• Like 1
Reefaddiction

Avoid the emerald, they are more of a headache in the long run. I wouldn’t add it unless you have a wicked bubble algae problem. 

Clown gobies are cool little fish, some say they will pick at sps polyps but mine doesn’t at all and I have quite a few Sps/acros.

Thanks, both of you! That really helps me narrow it down. Here's another question -- my LFS has a firefish and a springeri damsel in the same display tank (there's also a clown and a lawnmower blenny in there). I know that the general advice is to add one fish at once, but if these two have already been tankmates, could I add them to my biocube together? 

Reefaddiction