SaltCritters.com

Alkalinity depleted over hours!!!!

Piti80

Hi, i am new to the forum, but i have been keeping tanks for almost 30 years, i usually figure out my problems but not this one. I have researched and Ive found similar problems but no one came to a definitive conclusion. 

I have a 2.7 gallon pico reef that has been running for almost a year, but in the last tree months the alkalinity falls from 9.8 to under 5 overnight, i replace evaporation with kalk every day, and add alkalinity and no matter what i do within hours it drops to 6 then 5 etc. My test is good, i test at the same time i test my other tanks with the same test, and everything is ok but this one tank. 

I have sand three leather corals some zoas, one florida ricordea a very small xenia that is disappearing, another softy and two tiny mini carpet anemones, the anemones are doing better than everything else. O and i only keep 2 sexy shrimp 3 snails. I have a small refugium in the back with red and blue lights that come on at night. Nitrates are 0 or untraceable no matter how much i feed, and my test is good just like the other one. Calcium is 440, mag 1400, in the last month i have done 50 to 75% water changes weekly, with reef crystals and still all drops overnight. Ive done an 80 % water change with water taken out of my biocube, with no improvement. 

Any ideas? I pretty much have to dose my calk water, (2 tea spoons per gallon). Plus 4 ml of alk two part, every day, in a 2.7 gallon tank. I forgot to mention i have a gorgonian too. 

B83E1315-CBAE-46EA-B67A-105F075AA1F8.jpeg

356920E8-9CD7-4F42-8C50-DD42953FC5A8.jpeg

0AF4DDDF-124A-4FBD-9DBC-0D16BCCC7061.jpeg

34CA7DC4-904D-4E6F-811F-E41F880C4C15.jpeg

AB198FF3-29B8-420A-BCDA-EA78796A2ED7.jpeg

BEA626DB-4AC0-4047-A14E-B7BC0CEF772B.jpeg

• Like 1

Not sure why it's happening. Since you have no issues in your other tanks.