TotesMaGoat

Aquamaxx 48: indecisive 🤷‍♂️

Howdy all! I decided to make a journal for my new tank which I have been piecing together for the past 6 months or so. I originally bought the stand and a used no name rimless 40 breeder but it had 1/4” glass. I decided a few weeks ago I wanted thicker glass and ended up ordering an aquamaxx 48. Very pleased with the construction of this tank. Side panels are 1/2”, fit and finish on everything is great.

last weekend I drilled it for a 800gph modular marine overflow, and ended up drilling the drain hole on the return side. Whoops. After all that planning and waiting... well I had a schedule 80 bulkhead and decided to use that for the return, problem solved. Ugly but it will work. Hopefully that will be the biggest hiccup of the build.

I am indecisive as to what kind of reef I want it to be. I initially was going to go with a mixed reef of lps & sps, then was leaning towards a softy/macro tank, I am thinking it will be mostly softies with a few stylos and some Seriatopora. 

My my last tank this size was thrown together quickly with all 2nd hand equipment, the overflow was super loud as it was my first time plumbing a tank, and it did not last long set up in the living room. This time around I decided I was going to do it right. Took my time planning it out (minus my drilling blunder😅) and chose equipment I knew would help it be a successful reef. My goal for the tank is low maintenance. I am a teacher and coach, and  don’t always have the time during the week to show it a ton of love besides feeding. Livestock from my fusion 10 will be transferred over. I will be moving the first week of July and plan on setting it up that same week or shortly after.

Tank: aquamaxx 48

Light: ATI 6x24 4B+ 1 P+ 1C+

Sump: Emerald 26

Skimmer: Reef Octopus 110sss

Return: Reef Octopus Varios 2

Controller: Apex Jr