Innovative Marine Aquariums

Reducing water changes: methods, benefits, challenges & discussion

NanoRox

I have been cutting back on my water changes for the past maybe two months to mitigate some of the water parameter fluctuations I was seeing with every change and to see if I would detect any water quality degradation as a result.  

This is certainly not a scientific test with a control etc. but just through my own casual observation my corals are doing much better now that I have actually cut back on my changes.  Please note I still make water changes but not every week as I was when I first started the tank.

i have been interested is seeing when my tank actually required a water change and I am finding that once a month is the sweet spot for my tank.  The only limiting factors that seem to necessitate the addition of “new” sea water is  my calcium and magnesium.  I use kalk that is also fortified with calcium and magnesium in my ATO but the calcium and mg uptake  of the tank seems to out pace it in about a month.  I suppose I could switch to two part but don’t have dosing pumps etc.  I do however dose Red Sea trace colors ABCD in my ato once a week.  My ATO has turned into a magic elixir these past few months.  

I am attaching my Ca and Mg graph that shows the gradual decline that then requires a small water change (about 4 gallons in my 14g nano). The Ca and Mg spikes show the result of the last water change.  They appear to spike at a different time because for what ever reason I tested those on different days.   

Anyway, just thought I would share. 

F06F09BE-55F7-4A27-BFE3-B236C5B950A4.png

• Like 1