Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Is a UV Sterilizer Overkill on a Nano

Stoops718

Rather than list the potential drawbacks, what positive action are you hoping it will do for your tank?  In other words why do you think a UV sterilizer is needed for your tank? 

• Like 1
1 hour ago, Stoops718 said:

I'm just a sucker for tech and low maintenance.

High tech usually means more work in the long run not less. More things to go wrong. Don’t fall for it. In most nanos a water change will accomplish everything.  

• Like 3
On 6/4/2018 at 12:04 PM, WV Reefer said:

High tech usually means more work in the long run not less. More things to go wrong. Don’t fall for it. In most nanos a water change will accomplish everything.  

+10 on the above.  As a Marine Engineer and for 30 yrs as a deepwater Subsea Engineer on underwater blowout preventor  control systems.  We used fiber optics and acoustic signals using multiplexing communication 30 years ago.  The more bells and whistles the more failure points.  

I use dynamic equilibrium for a control system.  Carbon dioxide as a free inert gas combines with water to maintain pH using alkalinity supplied by carbon dioxide and then using the biochemistry of photosynthesis produces glucose which is a carbon source to grow coral.  Soluble nitrogen gas in the water combines with cynobacteria to form nitrate molecules in a process called “nitrogen fixation”.