SaltCritters.com

Kansas Bikini Bottom: IM 25 Lagoon

ksadam

I've been out of the saltwater hobby for quite sometime but after taking the kids and wife to a new local saltwater shop we all decided we needed a saltwater aquarium. I've been running a freshwater planted tank for about 3 years now and that is being replaced with the new reef tank(all the fish and plants are now in a 60 gallon summer tub outside and doing great). I built a new stand because I wanted to highlight the filtration and equipment along with the livestock that will eventually fill the top, which is why I have the open stand design. I was hoping to get some advice as far as equipment goes if anyone has a chance to look over my plans. Glad to be back!!

-Equipment List-

30 gallon aquarium 36x12x16

20 gallon sump, ATO reservoir will be on the left 4 inches of sump, Modular Marine Refugium Baffles

Tunze Osmolator ATO

Modular Marine 400gph Nano Overflow Box

Glass-holes loc-line 1/2" return

Reef Octopus Varios-2 DC Return Pump (792gph)

Jebao SW2 Wavemaker (660gph)

Cobalt Neo Therm 100w Heater

agrobrite 4x24w T5HO fixture

bulbs- 1- GE 6500k 2-ATI Blue Plus 1-ATI Purple Plus

IMG_0931.jpeg

IMG_1154.jpg

• Like 3
Christopher Marks

Great to see you back @ksadam!

That was a really nice freshwater aquarium you built, the balance of the aquascape, very pleasing. I'm sure you'll make a really neat reef scape.

Your tank plans look solid to me, though I wonder if you might want an overflow that could handle just a little more volume? What do you have planned for livestock?

I debated back and forth on the size of the overflow and ultimately chose the 400 gph, that gives me 10x water turnover running the pump at 300gph, that combine with the wave maker puts me at 30x times turnover combined which is probably a tad high. The bulkhead is 1” and the drain on the box is 3/4” so I could fesibly get a bigger outside box or just run down from the bulkhead if I needed more flow.