Pod Your Reef

Is This a Bleaching or Receeding?

Dreichler

I’ve had this rainbow monti frag for about 3-4 months now.  It’s grown decently, but for the past 2-3 days, none of its polyps have come out, and the outer areas where there should be growth kind of look like it’s bleached or the polyps are receeding in, but I can’t tell.  I do weekly 20% water change and dose very minorly for Alk and maybe 6mL of NO3PO4X per week (2mL every other day or so) just to keep nitrates and phosphates low.  Parameters all check out just fine but my pH seems a little low at 7.8-7.9.  Not sure if this is bleaching due to me moving it up a little higher in the tank in the past 14 days or if there is something else bothering it.  I’ve got a mixed reef and everything’s else is thriving.

F8FAEEDE-8CCA-4765-9479-4EF0E29216D5.jpeg

4F5EC8F3-3E34-4281-91D7-968891EB67D3.jpeg

I am no expert but it may want a place to expand off the frag. The color may vary depending on the light it receives but it does want to expand and encrust onto something. My digitata did just that. It is possible you placed it too high as it takes time for coral to respond to moving.

• Like 1

I think there are a few problems.

For one, you are still manually dosing. There needs to be very little day to day variance in alkalinity.

For another they do not like to be repeatedly handled and moved.

Another is the nutrient levels in your tank – if they are close to zero, in particular phosphates, that will be a problem.  Minimum level for PO4 I'd recommend is 0.03 ppm.  0.10 ppm would be safer in a new tank.

Carbon dosing is also not suggested unless this is an old tank.

Polyps-in, to me, is an indication that he's trying to shade himself. He's not doing that because he doesn't like light, he's doing that because right now he's trying to photo-acclimate in a tank that has no phosphate available for him. Phosphate is a necessary ingredient. Nitrates probably are too.