Coral Vue Hydros

Wavemaker vs Better return pump

Dgameman1

Hey all! I currently have the Innovative Marine Nuvo Fusion 10 Gallon tank

As it is right now, I put on a PP4 Jebao wavemaker.

It works fine and all but I don't have fish/corals yet so I don't know if it'll be too much flow, and even if it is, I can just get the 24v to 12v adapter to cut the speed in half.

I've been reading that some people don't even have a powerhead/wavemaker in their tanks and they just upgrade the return pump for more flow?

What do you guys recommend? 

These are the corals I'm going to be having

Button Polyps
Green Star Polyp
Toadstool Leather
Mushroom
Kenya Tree
Hammer Coral 

The goal is to be as silent and clutterfree as possible!

Thanks!

Im no expert on this by any means, but I would day if you are just planning to keep softies and one lps that you should be ok to just upgrade the return pump and possible throw a spinstream on to get some random flow. I have the IM 20 and put in a sicce 1.5 and two spinstreams and the pump is fantastic. I will eventually be putting a powerhead on because I want to keep sps, but dont have it yet. Others will know better then me though for sure!

SURVEYMAN46123

With that list of corals, I would go with an upgraded pump and no powerhead.  

That's setup I have and my tank is pretty happy. 

• Like 1
46 minutes ago, SURVEYMAN46123 said:

With that list of corals, I would go with an upgraded pump and no powerhead.  

That's setup I have and my tank is pretty happy. 

1 hour ago, Dgameman1 said:

Hey all! I currently have the Innovative Marine Nuvo Fusion 10 Gallon tank

As it is right now, I put on a PP4 Jebao wavemaker.

It works fine and all but I don't have fish/corals yet so I don't know if it'll be too much flow, and even if it is, I can just get the 24v to 12v adapter to cut the speed in half.

I've been reading that some people don't even have a powerhead/wavemaker in their tanks and they just upgrade the return pump for more flow?