Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

I'm pretty new to all of this.  I had freshwater tanks for a while, many years ago, but didn't really understand the hobby and I didn't take the time to learn.  I've always wanted a salt water tank, but stayed away because I was afraid of the the time and money commitment.  A friend of mine owns a pet store.  For years he's been trying to get me into the hobby because I'm always hanging out at his shop looking at his saltwater stuff.  In December he finally got me.  He gave me a Coralife 29 biocube.  Oh boy, I had no idea what I was in for.  It's been just under 6 months and it has been a hell of roller coaster, both good and bad.  There's a lot to recap in just 6 months, but I'll start with where I am now.  Then I'll recap everything I can recall going through/doing along the way to this point.  Hopefully others can make use of all of the things that have and have not worked well for me.

Attached is what my tank looks like as of April 8, 2018.

Hardware: 

Coralife biocube 29

Stock hood/lighting: CF daylight, Actinic Blue, Blue LED bar x2

Stock Pump

Upgraded ultra quiet hood fans

Hydor 425 & 240 powerheads

EHEIM Jager 150W heater

Filtration: stock bioballs, carbon filter cartidge, Chemipure Elite Blue biobag

2 digital electric outlet timers to control lights

Livestock:

2-Picaso Clowns

1-Yellow Wrasse

1-Purple goby firefish

1-Redstripe cleaner shrimp

1-Sand sifting starfish

6-crabs (3-red, 3-blue)

2-Nessarius snails

3-Turbo snails

2-Trochus snails

4-Astrea snails

1-Zebra snail

1-Bumblebee snail

Corals:

Duncan

Frogspawn

Hammer

Kenya tree

Zoanthids

Blue star polyps

Hollywood stunner

IMG_8735_edited.jpg

• Like 1