Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Musings of an Old Reefer

ajkochev

I've been reefing for almost 30 years now and I'm amazed at how far we've come.  I remember starting out back then and books recommending undergravel filters(to actually filter, not for plenum space) for tanks with anemones.  I remember standard florecent tubes and metal halide.  I remember a few years back the garlic dosing craze that claimed to cure fish parasites and adding vinegar to your home made kalkwasser to get it to hold more calcium  (don't know if ether is true).  I remember when deep sand beds(6 inch) were considered to lower nitrates.

Anyway I'm amazed by how far we've come in that short while.  To ultra bright LEDs on wifi controlers and macro algae reactors and designer zoas and clownfish.  Just wondering what the next big inovation(or crazy fad)might be in the future.  Your thoughts?
  • Like 3

It is pretty crazy. I've only personally owned a reef for the past 6 years, and even in that time I've seen crazy changes. I've been around aquariums and some reef tanks and worked on several in pet stores and my dad's AQ maintenance businesses since I was like 14 though. (that was loooong ago) Back then I remember reading Julian's book and being amazed. 

A tank with piles of fresh live rock, random wild caught corals, a huge skimmer and halides was so amazing. "You can't do a reef smaller than 100 gallons". Lol. Now some of these these guys are under a gallon! 

• Like 1

I hear ya.  I started my tank 18 yrs ago, it was my first salt water tank, though I had fresh for yrs before that.  I started with a 12 gal and after about 5 yrs stopped going in the forums and posting and keeping up with the times.   My tank had it's ups and downs and now I'm trying to get it back to what it was so I came back to the forums and I can't believe how much has changed.  I feel like a newbie.

• Like 2
On 4/19/2018 at 11:27 AM, ajkochev said: