Coral Vue Hydros

First Reef - Fluval 13.5 - Shopping List / Timeline

boxster1990

boxster1990

Hi Everyone!  Really excited to join the community here and hoping that you all will have the patience for me as I am totally new to stewarding an aquatic ecosystem in my apartment!

First things first, I'm based out of New York City, and have access to a pretty great LFS.  They managed to pique my interest in the hobby by showing me a fully stabilized tank with CUC, two clowns (NOID), and a host of different coral species.  They were selling this tank for $600 which, after doing all my subsequent research, seems like a pretty decent value - but I decided to learn everything myself, start from scratch, and take things slow.  If there's one thing I've gathered from reading the forum so far, it's that patience is key.

What I'd really love your help with is the following:

A ) Peek at my shopping list (let me know if you have any suggested adds/swaps/removals)

C ) Let me know if you think my "plan" below makes sense

Shopping List

Infrastructure

1. RO/DI System: AquaFX Barracuda RO/DI Aquarium Filter

2. Tank: Fluval 13.5 Gallon SEA EVO XII

3. Nano Circulation Pump: Hydor Koralia Nano - 240 gph

4. Heater: Cobalt Aquatics Neo-Therm 50W Aquarium Heater

5. Media Basket: inTank - Chamber One Basket

6. 5-Gallon Pail: Leaktite - I like this one because it is clear with measuring lines

7. 6 Outlet Surge Protector Strip (generic)

Tank Supplies for Set Up and Cycling

1. Live Sand: CaribSea Arag-Alive 20 Pound Fiji Pink Sand

2. Ready to Use Base Rock: Carib Sea South Sea Base Rock (Got 2 x 10lb bags for choices when aquascaping)

3. Salt: Red Sea Coral Pro Salt, 55-Gallon Pail

4. Bacteria Supplement: Instant Ocean BIO-Spira

5. Food to Feed Tank: New Life Spectrum Thera A Regular Formula

Testing and Filtration Media

1. TDS Meter: UBANTE TDS, EC and Temperature Meter

2. Digital Refractometer: Milwaukee MA887