inTank Media Baskets

Rose bubble tip anemone with Kessil A80 Tuna Blue

dino

Hey guys I'm new to reefing, I would like to know whether the Kessil A80 Tuna Blue is sufficient enough when considering the lighting requirements of Rose bubble tip anemone? What I feel by doing some research on peoples experiences is that when it is supplied with moderate flow and the correct lighting it tends to keep its tentacles bubbles instead of stretching out, therefore trying to give it the ideal lighting conditions. Looking forward to know your experiences and suggestions, thanks.

Cheers,

DIno

MainelyReefer

Kessil a80 are best at illuminating tanks less than 10g and preferably less than 5g.  So what size tank is it you plan to use?  If it's a larger tank I reccomend a larger light too. More info needed on your setup 

7 minutes ago, GraniteReefer said:

Kessil a80 are best at illuminating tanks less than 10g and preferably less than 5g.  So what size tank is it you plan to use?  If it's a larger tank I reccomend a larger light too. More info needed on your setup 

It's a 10g.

On 3/10/2018 at 5:10 PM, GraniteReefer said:

Any suggestions/advice mate?

MainelyReefer

AI Prime HD is 200$ and is a great light with a proven track record,  kessil a160 would be the right kessil for that tank but its price point is considerably higher than the AI's with arguably less amenities even when coupled with the kessil spectral controller, but the shimmer, the way the spectrum blends on a kessil is so nice.  Try getting 3w per gallon minimum as evenly distributed across the tank as possible.  With LEDs you always oversize the lighting unit as you just dim down the channels to what your tank needs, which I think is better for a light than say running the a80 at 100% all the time like I do on my 4g.

Segalplayer