SaltCritters.com

Bubble tip anemone dying

Lizbeth90

This is my first time getting an anemone. At first it was doing well. Now I noticed stuff coming out the mouth like when corals are dying. Is he dying, is there anything I can do? My phosphates were high I did two water changes so far and my nitrates were only 5 

0C506B05-D3B4-46AE-BCAB-D5ECB2486D58.jpeg

083ED04B-A47B-4F19-B9AB-AF85D4565CBA.jpeg

3 minutes ago, Lizbeth90 said:

This is my first time getting an anemone. At first it was doing well. Now I noticed stuff coming out the mouth like when corals are dying. Is he dying, is there anything I can do? My phosphates were high I did two water changes so far and my nitrates were only 5 

0C506B05-D3B4-46AE-BCAB-D5ECB2486D58.jpeg

083ED04B-A47B-4F19-B9AB-AF85D4565CBA.jpeg

Anemones of any kind are generally not recommended in such a young tank. They need stability and a new reef is not a stable reef. 

Is the mouth gaping?  Is it closed up completely?  It can nuke everything in there if it starts to die or it can “let go” and get chopped in a powerhead. 

13 minutes ago, RocketClownfish said:

If it’s dying please just toss it. Usually they will not rebound once in the decline.

Well yes, that’s what I’m trying to figure out whether it’s actually dying or not 

LogicalReefs

It looks ok for now. I don’t see anything crazy that would indicate something bad. Just looks in shock like a new tank coral. How long has it been in the tank?

It could just be pooping. Anenomes look angry when they have to poop :P

If it is dying it would have a gaping hole and smell bad...loose his stickiness and foot would come loose. Just monitor... 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1