Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Need help starting nano sw tank!

anniebanana267

anniebanana267

Hi everyone. I’m new to aquariums. Never had saltwater or even freshwater. I’m planning on getting a 15 gallon column tank. It’s a starter kit with an LED or Fluorescent light, there’s 2 different ones to choose from. I don’t know fancy saltwater language as a warning for what’s coming up, haha. I want saltwater fish and I have 1 live rock that’s not really live anymore? It was sitting outside when I bought it, and it’s been sitting in my back porch in a container for a long time now. It says it’s called a small tufa on the tag. Some fish I would love to have are a clownfish, a yellow clown goby, a jawfish, a Royal gramma(?) a mandarin fish, sexy shrimp, Pom Pom crab, dwarf/Pygmy octopus, and/or a cuttlefish. Yes, I’m aware I can’t have them all cuz that’s way too many for a 15 gallon, and some of them are probably not even compatible with each other or with a 15 gallon. So, so far what I know I need are a thermometer, salt, water (obviously), some live rocks, a protein skimmer, a heater, refractometer, Wavemaker OR power head, and a test kit. My question is am I missing anything and do I really need all of this? I’ve read on some places that I may not need some of these things since it’s pretty small of a tank, and I’m just really confused. I don’t plan on getting corals at least not for now. I don’t have very much money so I need the cheapest I can get. If you have any suggestions or links, that would be great. I need any help I can get please. Let me know if any more information is needed and thanks in advance I really appreciate it. 

• Like 1

Hello and welcome

First off, you need to do a lot of research.

You need to research cycling a saltwater tank, water chemistry, filtration, testing, lighting.

It's best to go through the threads and on respected websites.