Pod Your Reef

New Fish for Established Tank - Advice needed

Matt W

I recently lost my firefish gobie, due to some unlucky timing leaving my screen off. I was already looking to add one or two more fish, but now I am for sure. 

My 40 g display currently has only three fish. I have limited experience in this area of SW fish keeping and am looking for some advice. I know there are some species that would be more risky to add (second clown, another basslet, etc.) but I would love some advice with my current mix of fish. I will use an acclimation box for the new additions. 

Current inhabitants in 40 G display; the tank is one yr old and currently stable:
Royal gramma basslet 
snowflake ocellaris clownfish 
six line wrasse

Thanks in advance,
Matt

Some great fish you have there...  Bummer on the goby - it was probably pretty stressed though as the other fish are a bit aggressive. Though to your credit you probably have a large enough tank to pull it off as long as you have lots of hidey spots.

My favs that would be compatible:

- yellowtail blue damsel

- talbots damsel

- alleni damsel

- cardinal fish

- purple pseudochromis

- You could maybe do another wrasse, like a fairy wrasse or something

- Centropyge (dwarf) angel (you'll need to probably include some greens in your feeding)

- A blenny of some type (that hangs around the bottom) It shouldn't be bothered too much by the other fish you have

- Hawkfish (careful though with inverts!)

There's more obviously but I would stay away from damsels that get too large or aggressive, tangs, more clowns (unless same species and smaller), and most gobies.  You could probably get a bottom feeding goby but those come with their own set of issues (depositing sand everywhere, hard to feed, etc...).  Good luck.

• Like 1