Cultivated Reef

My stupid sump plans & questions

ReefingRelapse

ReefingRelapse

So the title says it all. I've never built a sump before. But Im wanting to put a 5.5g refugium underneath the stand of my running 32g biocube and make a diy overflow above. Im wanting to make a diy overflow over the 3rd chamber of the tank. Im wanting to put baffles in my sump aligned in corners for more chaeto space/ visual appeal

Does this overflow idea look like it'd work? Or should I just suck it up and buy a damn overflow box?

Any ideas what size I should do for drain and return? And pump size?

How should I set the baffles in the sump for optimal performance & minimal air bubbles?

Probably have a million more questions but that's it for now. Please excuse the toddler-like drawings

20180116_144352.jpg

20180116_144400.jpg

20180116_150240.jpg

• 3 weeks later...

With a return section that is that small, you will run the pump dry very quickly. 

Meaning, all your Evaporation will be noticed in the return section. As designed, you will probably also encounter micro bubbles & dead spots in the sump. 

Try for a more traditional sump. 

• Like 2
ReefingRelapse
3 hours ago, JBM said:

With a return section that is that small, you will run the pump dry very quickly. 

Meaning, all your Evaporation will be noticed in the return section. As designed, you will probably also encounter micro bubbles & dead spots in the sump. 

Try for a more traditional sump. 

Thank you for the input, after 2 weeks I thought this was dead. Lol. l'll probably just run the existing biocube chambers for awhile and see how that does. Not sure it's worth the work unless a tank is designed for a sump or hob overflow box

1 hour ago, ReefingRelapse said:

Thank you for the input, after 2 weeks I thought this was dead. Lol. l'll probably just run the existing biocube chambers for awhile and see how that does. Not sure it's worth the work unless a tank is designed for a sump or hob overflow box