Libra Vibora

Beginner Tank Suggestions

Libra Vibora

Hi, guys! I've lurked on this forum for a bit and finally found the courage to create an account, so I'm very glad to be here. I'm completely new to saltwater; I've always wanted a saltwater tank, but only had freshwater tanks due assuming that SW tanks need to be huge and require lots of maintenance. So, I was completely surprised and happy to learn SWtanks can be smaller and aren't as hard as people claim them to be. 

Cutting to the chase, I am seriously considering getting a nano tank and making it a reef tank, but I'm unsure which nano tanks would be good for someone like me, a beginner with no saltwater experience. So far, based on limited space, my choices have narrow down to the Coralife LED Biocube 16, the Fluval 13.5  IM Nuvo Fusion 10, IM Fusion Peninsula 20, and IM Nuvo Drop-Off 20. I intend to research long before (as in months) buying the tank and all the equipment I need to successfully start and maintain a SW reef tank.  What are the pros and cons of each of these tanks? What are the equipment/upgrades I would need for each specific tank?

Lula_Mae

:welcome: to Nano-Reef!  I was the same, always thought salt tanks had to be huge until I came here.  I would suggest searching for those tanks on here and reading about the myriad ways people have customized and upgraded (or not) each of them to get an idea for what would need immediate upgrading versus what could wait versus what's perfectly fine to use.  There's pros and cons to the sizes you've got in mind too, more tank gallons = more space but lighting can get more expensive for longer tanks.  There's so many ways to reef, best thing to do I think is read, read, read some more, and start trying things once you pick a tank setup. :)

• Like 1

Big E reef