Cultivated Reef

College Reefs: How my Clownfish are on their way to a degree

bolts.mania

OK, well they might not be getting degrees but they are for sure helping me get mine! I am currently a Junior at a small school in Ohio and I have something no one else has, a pair of badass clownfish! I have been keeping reef tanks for about 7 years now and after all that time I finally feel like I'm avoiding rookie mistakes. I originally brought a 5 gallon tank to school my second semester of my freshman year and my whole plan was to make everything as simple (and cheap) as possible. Anyone in the hobby knows where this is going. I went too simple and too cheap right out the gate. I went bare-bottom, no mechanical filtration and even skimped on the live-rock. Long story short that tank did not survive past spring semester. I tore it all down and swore that I was done! 

Fastforward a year and my obsession with the hobby had been rekindled. I spent the last summer researching how I can make this tank 1) thrive long term, 2) personally enjoyable and 3) informative to others. As the only person on my campus to have a saltwater tank I felt like this time around I had to keep the up for myself but also for the people living with me. 5 months into that journey and people still come up to me and ask "you're the one with the fish tank in your room right?"

attachFull636489 

Tank Specs 

Display: 10 gallon glass aquarium
Lighting: 2 Par38 Rapid LED bulbs suspended using Coral Compulsion clamps
Heating: Eheim 25W heater
Circulation: Ecotech mp10 (OG model)
Rock: Reel Reef Rock (10lbs)
Filter: Aquaclear 20 w/Chemi-Pure Blue
Substrate: Carib Sea Arag-Alive Reef Sand (-12Lbs.)

Current Livestock

A pair of Ocellaris clownfish 
2x Sexy Shrimp 
2x Nassarius Snails
2x Scarlet Hermit Crabs

attachFull636543 
attachFull636544 attachFull636545 

attachFull636546 

Soft Coral

Green star polyps
Radioactive Zoanthids
Hulk Zoanthids

attachFull636553 

Anemones

Red rock anemone