SaltCritters.com

test kits question

jorahx

hey so i'm new to reefing and i'm in the process of building my first fish tank. its a 20g one and ideally ill have a couple fishies and a couple corals. now back to my question, what are the suggested water test kits i should buy? while browsing i saw like 12 different chemicals to test for but i didn't know which ones are important to get first while i'm trying to cycle my tank and which ones i should get when i actually get a fish or a coral.

thanks for any help you guys can suggest. 

Clown79 is on point for what you need and when you need it. 

I never use to test alk, calcium, mag or phos when I first started I just relied that water changes would get my levels close enough to acceptable and my tank always was surviving but not thriving like it is now.

API for Ammonia, Nitrite and nitrate are sufficient if you are on a tight budget. I like the red sea tests a bit better for those three because I find the colors are easier to tell from one level to the next, but the API are definitely pretty good and will get the job done for a fraction of the cost.

for ALK hanna tester is the best, but I use Red Sea because it is more cost efficient because I test multiple tanks 3-5 times a week. 

Calcium and Mag I just use the red sea because they come as a "foundation kit" with the alk. I have used API calcium test before and it gets you in the ballpark.

Phos I would highly suggest a hanna because the levels are generally so low that it is hard to decipher one color to the next even with the best colorimeter test.

This is a great video on test kits

https://www.bulkreefsupply.com/video/view/week-34-our-favorite-test-kits/