SaltCritters.com

Clown Fish and Anemone

Larry the Lobster

Larry the Lobster

Hello,

I am a beginner in the hobby. I took a sample of water to my fish store and they told me my tank is cycled after 4 weeks of waiting they said I was ready to adopt a fish. My local fish store had a great deal on Percula Clown fish so I bought two so in the future the could become a pair. But I also want them to host an anemone. Do I get the anemone (hopefully a Rose Bubble Tip Anemone) now (had the clowns for eight days but will get the anemone in a week or two) or do I get it much later.

P.s I have tested my water my Ammonia NH3 and Ammonium NH4+ are  at zero and so are my nitrites and nitrates. And is it normal that my clowns like so swim down a corner.

Thank you  

Welcome to N-R. 

While a BTA is a relatively easy anemone, I'd suggest waiting until your tank matures some. Plus, it'll help you get some experience under your belt. Nobody here will tell you to buy a nem right off. Especially without knowing more about your tank. Especially the lights. 

As for your clowns. That sounds like normal behavior.

This tank is WAY too new to even think about a 'nem. The clown's will be fine without one for a while. Also, when u are ready to go the 'nem route make sure your tank is big enough to handle a medium to large one. Clown's can get a little rough when they take up residence in one and can actually damage it if it's not large enough. How big is your tank?

Larry the Lobster
3 hours ago, Oldsalt01 said:

This tank is WAY too new to even think about a 'nem. The clown's will be fine without one for a while. Also, when u are ready to go the 'nem route make sure your tank is big enough to handle a medium to large one. Clown's can get a little rough when they take up residence in one and can actually damage it if it's not large enough. How big is your tank?

3 hours ago, medinar83 said:

def wait for the tank to mature, patience will be your BF in the hobby.