Pod Your Reef

Silvertoe's Pico- Bye bye MP10!

silvertoe

Hello Everyone!

I've been reef-keeping for about four years now (after a long stint keeping tropical before that) and having had a 180L mixed reef, a 60L nano, I have now gone even smaller with a 30L system.

I haven't kept a reef build before so I hope I can keep you guys posted on this system's progress (assuming there is progress)!

Like many, I'm sure, I started off by reading up about reefs on many sites and eventually, now, I only really come onto NR! My early inspirations were all from this forum, mainly TeenyReef's 10G, ninjamyst's 12G, yoshii's 10G and Justind's 9G. Subsequently, I fell in love with the shallow style tank and East1, Scorched, 4x5 and Brad908's builds.

Setup:

Display- ADA Cube Garden 45-F (45 x 16 x 24cm);

Sump- custom acrylic four chamber sump (approximately 25 cm cube);

Overflow- a Scorched style direct drain/ return system with a 1" drain and 1/2" return;

Return pump- Jecod DCT-1200;

Heater- Aquael 50W Easy Heater;

Circulation- will probably add my MP10 from the 60L;

Light- at present nothing but my Ai Prime will be mounted onto this in the near future (when the 60L is closed down);

Mechanical filtration- 4" filter sock;

Bio filtration- maybe 2kg live rock and future plan to add chaeto chamber to sump;

Chemical filtration- None planned;

Doser- single dosing pump (TMC) planned for Kalwasser addition;

ATO- TMC single switch;

Cabinet- IKEA!

My plans for livestock are actually just two or three corals which I hope to nurture to eventually fill a lot of the open space. In fact I only started this tank to keep some of my old favourite colonies (or frags of) when I sold almost all of my 60L system off and realised I'd miss reef-keeping too much! My cleaner shrimp from the 60L (already two years old) will also probably see out his days here and hopefully a porcelain crab if I can find a pretty one.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

IMG_0993.JPG

IMG_0992.JPG