Pod Your Reef

New 20g setup

ThorReefer

Alright, so I am new to the hobby (just starting with this aquarium), and have been working on setting this aquarium up for about a month (began 9/1/17). Before I dive into things, I am just wanting to get general advice on where to go from here, how quickly I should progress, and other things I need to more completely balance out the ecosystem I am creating.

Equipment: So, I have an Innovative Marine Nuvo Fusion 20g aquarium, with IM Ghost protein skimmer (mid-sized), running a filter sock on one side of my overflow and a media basket with mechanical sponge, carbon sponge, and phosphate sponge. I have reef rubble in my sump area as a breeding ground for copepods and amphipods. I am running the stock sump pump, but have swapped out the nozzles from the sump for 2 rotating flow deflectors by Hydor. I am running AquaIllumination Prime lighting about 12 inches off of the water surface. I am keeping my water at about 77 degrees Fahrenheit, verified with Coralife digital thermometer. I am also running a Seachem Nitrate sponge in my sump area to keep my nitrates low.