Cultivated Reef

Katie's 1st SW nano!

Zorya

Hi!  I have recently joined the saltwater community (I keep freshwater nanos) and I'm going to catalog all of my tank goings in this journal!  This is going to be an -attempt- on a mini reef with fish tank.

A little background on me:

I am a PhD student in Illinois and I have 6 5 freshwater aquariums that I have been maintaining since March 2017.  The reason for 5 is that I have converted on of my 10 gal tanks at home to saltwater (this journal).  My freshwaters are detailed later in this post as the saltwater stuff is first and foremost in this journal.

My setup as of now is:

- 10 gal Aqueon tank - just your boring, cheap, rectangular, regular tank, but it's the best

- 1 HOB AquaTech 5-15 gal rated filter with filter floss

- 1 100W heather (usually off as my room runs a little warm and it doesn't seem to sense the water needs to heat (good!), thermometer reads steady 78F at various times in day

- 1 Elite mini underwater filter (powerhead) with filter foam removed --> this is being replaced with 1 Hydor Koralia Nano 425 and will eventually be fitted with one of those rotating water flow things

- 1 random light I found --> to be replaced with AI Nano bought from forum member here

- 1 HOB breeder box (med) because I needed somewhere to put the LR rubble while I scaped tank --> probably grow some macros here once I move the rubble into the main display

- lid will be acrylic custom made by my friend and I as I can get acrylic for cheap and he can laser cut it - woo!

And now the stock list!  Here's where I'd like some advice - I've read plenty of stuff on the forum here about not over stocking and such (researching is a major part of my job actually), so I'd like specific advice as it concerns to my stocking list.  Maybe there's nothing that could be said, but I'm sure you all have great advice to give to someone just starting out.

Fish (2 total):