Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

"Low Maintenance" ADA 60F Nano Build

skrist

Hello all, 

CURRENT FTS:

26279053989_f7a9848a7b_b.jpg

I'm new to the hobby of saltwater aquariums and wanted to share the progression of my build with you all! I've done freshwater planted tanks in the past and finally made the decision to play in the big leagues and start a reef tank!

Here is my equipment list so far:

ADA 60F 8.6 Gallon rimless aqaurium

30 gallon DIY sump with refugium and liverock sections

Mame medium sized overflow     Eshopps Eclipse Overflow Box (small)

Kessil A160WE 40W LED Light

DIY Protein skimmer   Bubble Magus Curve 5 Protein Skimmer

36W LED Grow light for Refugium

Top Fin circulation pump   Ecotech Mp10

Koolermax AR-122 6-stage RO+DI 

Quietpro 1.2 Controlled Pump

DIY float valve auto top off

Jebao dosing pump

Since I live near the coast in Southern California, I will be using mostly natural seawater filtered through filter floss and activated carbon for my water changes (except for after rainstorms when runoff destroys the water quality). 

I cant wait to have the tank up and running! There are many pictures to come so stay tuned! (Yes, I know the filter sock is the complete wrong size)

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

• Like 2
2 hours ago, samnaz said:

Interesting. A huge sump and a tiny display tank... don't believe I've seen that before. 

I read that nano reefs are difficult  to maintain because of the fluctuations in parameters. So hopefully a combined volume of around 35 gallons should help mitigate that difficulty

19 minutes ago, skrist said:

I read that nano reefs are difficult  to maintain because of the fluctuations in parameters. So hopefully a combined volume of around 35 gallons should help mitigate that difficulty

Sure it will!

But soon or later you will regret its the other way around!  Because as soon as corals grow you will want more room.