Top Shelf Aquatics

Preparing for a heat wave

BTBarney

Hello Nano-Reef!

I'm a newbie to the forums (not necessarily a newbie to aquariums), but I have a nano-reef temperature control question :)

I live in California, where it can get quite hot - temperatures are expected to get up to 110F in my area this weekend (Boo!!!).

I have a new (~2 months) IM Fusion 10, with no chiller.  Nor do I have air conditioning in my house (another Boo!!).  I expect the temp in this tank to skyrocket over the weekend, and I'm sure the Zoas, Frogspawn, Cyphastrea, and Acans will be, shall we say, unhappy about this.

Does anyone on this forum use some sort of short-term cooling system ideas, be they makeshift or store-bought, that would get me through this heat wave?  Freezer packs in the back sump?  watching the temperature like a hawk?  I'm up for ideas, as I'd rather not wipe out the tank before it really gets started.

Thanks!

-Bryan

• Like 1

Frozen water bottle in the sump, and a fan towards the tank.  

You will get extra evaporation due to the fan, so be ready to top off a bit more.

I did this when my AC went out here in MO with the temp in the high 90s and it worked well.  

I just threw a few water bottles in the freezer and pulled the labels off, and rotated them as needed. 

outside of AC or a chiller, a fan.

Placing a fan directly near the tank will aid in lowering the temp. It will cause increased evaporation so have water on hand for that.

I keep bottles of water in my freezer in the event of a power outage during the summer, otherwise I rely on AC and fans.

I have about 6-7 mini (8oz) plastic coke bottles that I fill up with water and freeze. I normally only use them when the power goes off if needed, but I was able to keep my 20g tank around 78-79 with 3 bottles in the tank and rotating them out when they defrost. 

Is you tank open or do you have a lid? Removing the lid will allow more water to evap and that will help keep the temp down.