SaltCritters.com

Bringing RO/DI Water Temp Down

aerotiy

Hello all,

This may be a silly question but I'm still learning and want to do everything right. I have just been reading that to mix Red Sea Coral Pro Salt properly the RO water needs to be 68 degrees F. Higher temps cause calc precipitation. My problem is that the water I have for mixing is currently at about 79 degrees. I am trying to think of ways to cool the water down so I can properly mix it and the only thing I can think of is to put some ice in plastic bags and let them float in the buckets. Does anyone think that the plastic bags would contaminate the water in any way? Again, sorry if it's a dumb question I just want to be sure. Thanks!

I used the salt and never even checked the temp upon mixing 

Per red sea the instructions they gave me were

Add salt to the water slowly while stirring, after 2 hrs add powerhead and heater.

Adding the heater and powerhead prior to 2hrs causes cloudiness and precipitation.

Don't mix it for longer than 4hrs and it shouldn't sit longer than a week. 

Thrassian Atoll

I wouldn't worry about the temp before mixing.  I have never heard of that causing an issue.  I would think too that it would be harder to get the salinity correct if you mixed it 10 degrees colder than you have your tank temp.

MainelyReefer