Pod Your Reef

Hardy Nano Saltwater Aquarium

Hobbs

Hey everyone,

My 8g aquarium is almost done cycling and I am thinking about livestock options.  I have had 6 years of experience with a 10 but after a 2 year break (went to Africa) I decided to start from scratch with a cube.

I have 7 pounds of very porous pre cured live rock, 12 lbs of sand, standard mechanical/ charcoal filter, and a moderate intensity LED light fixture.

I know my livestock selection is fairly limited so i wanted to get a couple thoughts before making any purchases.

I move every year so the corals/inverts/fish do have to be a bit hardy.

For a center piece coral, I wanted to do a birds nest coral and have some mushroom and zoos, maybe a couple other smaller corals or a leather eventually.

Now the hard part. Fish. I know one or two at most but I really like symbiotic relationships and am having a hard time with compatability.  I was at first considering a royal gramma (slightly larger than ideal though) for its coloring but I realized its a little aggressive.  I am also thinking a pistol shrimp/ watchman combo but the coloring is kind of dull. Also I am concerned that the pistol shrimp might kill other inverts i put in.  I'm of course going to do snails and hermits but I am pretty tempted to go with sexy shrimp and a porcelain/Pom Pom crab and spot feed.  I could just stick with clown gobies or neon gobies but I like more active, free swimming fish

I am completely open to suggestions and going with something completely different than what I have planned.

Thought of a Harlequin Shrimp but those are too much work...

IMG_4606.JPG

IMG_4609.JPG

Edited by Hobbs
Updated to include pictures
  • Like 2

Hello

For fish you are limited due to it being an 8g tank.

A pistol goby pair is the standard for Pico tanks. So are clown gobies.

A tailspot blenny would work and they have good personalities. 

The tank is too small for a royal gramma.