SaltCritters.com

Jesse's 30 gallon reef + 10 gallon planted dorm tank

jesseatam

This is the start of my long overdue tank thread, below is the summary of my tank so far as of starting this thread. My goal for this tank is to just experiment and get my feet wet in the hobby.

Hi, I'm Jesse I'm a high school student who's loved fish ever since I first saw my uncles 90 gallon saltwater tank. Ever since then I've always said to myself one day I'm going to have one of those too and finally many years later in February I had gotten everything together that I needed for my own very reef after tons of research and saving up. Slowly but surely the tank cycled, I added a clean up crew and  then got my first fish on March 29th, a royal gramma named George. I took it slow from there, if I had learned from all my research it was that having patience is one of the most important parts of this hobby. Then almost a month later I got my first coral, a zoa frag and a pair of wyoming white ocellaris clowns who I named Casper and Pearl. Then in June I ordered another zoa frag and a geometric pygmy hawkfish (Eugene)  off of divers den, this fish never ended up taking prepared foods. Sadly then a few days before my birthday George went carpet surfing and I found him the next morning. I was completely heartbroken but lesson learned, always have a top. I then went to reefapolooza for my birthday and came home with two  euphyllia frags and an RFA. It was then on the 4th of July I decided to take a trip to petco just to see what they had in stock and they had one of my favorites, a kamohara blenny. However, before I could pull the trigger on the blenny something caught my eye in the tank below. There was a small orchid dottyback who was getting beat up on by some neon dottybacks. I couldn't bear to leave this fish and impulsively bought it and brought it home. I was worried the dotty would pick on Eugene but in fact it was the other way around, as soon as the dottyback was added Eugene im