SaltCritters.com

full tank rescaping

gogeta

I really want to do a full rescape, i stupidly put my rock in quickly and good enough was good enough as i was on a time delay and wanted to get the cycle going before leaving for a few weeks. i want to change it now before the tank matures much more and unsettling things may be a worse problem. I have never done a major rescape before once a tank is up and running, moved a couple rocks or added and removed a rock or two but nothing like full blown rescape. Tank isn't that old but it is already pretty full of coral, my plan is to remove the coral, fish and inverts. i will bag the fish (only 2 clowns) and put the coral and inverts in a bucket with tank water and either an air stone or a powerhead. Move the rock around try and siphon any detritus and any other nasties that come up. throw in a 30% water change just for good measure. obviously try and not disturb the sand bed too much. my question is anyone thats done a full on rescape does this sound ok?

also one more specific question will my sps be ok in a confined bucket with a leather coral or should i separate the leather coral? even have two buckets one for sps and one for the rest? ive had problems in the past were a leather coral was annoying sps being close to it so i don't think it would be a good idea to put them all together in a more confined space. 

I wouldn't bag the fish. I'd put them in a bucket with a heater and powerhead. 

The corals will be fine in a bucket. If you're worried put the leather with the fish.

I have rescaped my tank but I replaced my sand bed at the same time as it was my main reason for a complete aquascape.

In my 15g I have rescaped but my main rocks stayed in place as I don't put the rocks on the sand but rather on cut eggcrate which lays on the glass. I worked my aquascape around those.