ReefCleaners.org

TG's 40L nano adventure: Attack of the Possum Wrasse

tunagirll

Howdy :)

This is my first time setting up a marine tank myself from scratch, should be an adventure. I've had a nano marine tank before, but it was set up for me by my LFS - lovely gents! I have extensive experience designing and setting up scaped and planted FW tanks, so I feel excited trying a new medium.

FTS Oct 2017

IMG_1443.thumb.JPG.ee8fb3c23b18e796d1e6ea5b0b136cf2.JPG

Specs:

Fireaqua 35cm cube tank with back filter and plates

Tunze return pump ~ 700L

Tunze DOC skimmer 9001

Aquaone Thermosafe 50W heater

Tunze Nanostream 6040 stream pump with controller

Zetlight LED Nano 11W

Mixed bag of carbon and phosguard

Real reef rock - 4kg

Caribsea #2 sand - 4kg

Livestock:

1 x Ocellaris Clownfish "Ezio II"

1 x Possum Wrasse "Princess"

2 x Trochus snails

1 x Zombie snail

1 x Hermit crab "Crabby"

1 x Porcelain Anemone Crab "Citizen Snips"

Elegance coral

Acan lord

Super Ultra acan

Lavender rainbow acan

Red and gold acan

Green acan

WA Orange eyed metallic green chalice

Crocea clam

NT zoa rock lavender

Darth Maul zoas 

God of War zoas 

Superman zoas 

Yellow zoas (wild)

Palythoa

Blastomussa

Blue Gonipora

Gold tip torch

Feeding and maintenance:

Monthly - replace carbon and phosguard

Weekly - 40% water change with natural sea water followed by 1 drop each Coral Vitaliser and Amino acid

Every second day - 1/10 scoop Vitalis Soft Coral food, 1/6 cube mix 70% Mysis 30% Daphnia. 

Daily - Top up, glass clean

The tank has been set up with all the above equipment. The Fireaqua kit comes with a generous number of sponges and filter media - which I removed from the tank as I have a skimmer and bag going in, instead.