Coral Vue Hydros

New 3.7 Fish Only Pico up and running

Jholm007

Hello!  I'm new to SW tanks, but had several FW setups over the years.  Guy I work with has a small 2.7 on his desk, and it got me fired up.  He has just rock, no sand, crabs and a clown.  He is less than aggressive on his tank, but has had no losses.  

I bought a 3.7 AIO from Petco, to see if I could manage a similar tank to his.  I bought water from LFS and 5 lbs of live rock, the cure in-house.  They told me to just get it running and add a small fish.  Said there would be a limited cycle due to sand/Rock/ water I got from them.  They told me they had the perfect fish.  The smallest clown they have ever had.  He is less than an inch.  Anyway, got it all up and running and clown seems really happy.  Named him Pennywise.  What else, non-fish should I add to the tank?  I will be very diligent on water changes and topping off.  

The LFS is so close to my house they want me to keep them updated.  Also, tank has a 40 gph pump and a heater. Water is constant at 78.  Will upgrade the pump, depending on what else I decide to add.

Anyway, thanks for reading and looking forward to the input.  

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

• Like 2
gone_PHiSHin

i'll be the first to say it, i am not a fan of adding a fish before you are certain the cycle has completed. 

if you are going to keep the clown in there during this, be sure to monitor ammonia very closely.

and before anyone else says it, a clown will be too big for a 3.7 gallon tank eventually. you'll be ok for a while but they grow quickly and he will soon be too cramped for that tank.  also they are pigs and can make a mess of the small volume of water very quickly so you will need to be on top of testing and water changes.  there are much better options for that tank as far as fish go, so keep in mind your best bet will be to trade him in for something better suited for that size.