Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Beginner equipment advice for 10G bare bottom tank?

Haniya Rae

Haniya Rae

Hello,

My name is Haniya, I live in Brooklyn, and I'm happy a community like this exists. I've really been enjoying all of the beginner posts on how to set up nano reef tanks. I have two freshwater tanks, a 20 gallon and a 40 gallon, and those are thriving. I want to get into reef building for two reasons, one from an environmental standpoint as I'm a journalist writing about sustainability issues and I'd like to know more about how reefs are affected (and feel like owning a small one would help me learn about the needs of reefs), and the other is that I'm looking for a challenge. I know that freshwater and saltwater are completely different, and making mistakes with my freshwater tanks, I know that it can be a very expensive hobby.

I haven't set up the tank yet, but I have bought most of the supplies. I figure before I set it up, perhaps someone could tell me if I should return something/invest in a different piece of equipment. In my design, I am looking to affix live rock together in a small 'Z' shape, and I've bought putty and superglue to make it happen. I also was thinking I'd start with SPS corals, sticking with a pink/purple-blue/orange color scheme, so any ideas on corals that fit that description that would also do well in a 10G would be appreciated! Eventually, I'd probably add about 10 Cerith snails as a cleanup crew, and maybe a small fish several months from now, but I'd rather get the tank as stable as possible before I do that. 

Here are my supplies so far:

Aquamaxx Cuboid tank

Seachem Labs 55 gal Tidal Filter 

• on my freshwater tanks, I always err on the side of having the filter be a lot more powerful, but if this isn't the case with saltwater, please let me know!
  • the other question is if the skimmer on the tidal would intake needed nutrients, and if so, what's the best way to resupply them?

Sun Submersible Wave Maker