Cultivated Reef

6linewrasse
44 minutes ago, 6-wrasse said:

20170621_195647.jpg

40 gal actinic new setup HELP!!

Hey guys I am new to Saltwater please help me setup this baeutiful potential reef

6linewrasse

Well long story short.. I once had a tank and had no idea what I was doing.. ended up feeling like a murderer and lost alot of money.. 

I since then decided to stay out of the hobby until most recently I noticed a nice tank at my LFS and had to purchase... so I just setup everything over the weekend. Now I would like to prevent mistakes from reincurring and setup a nice reef tank. 

To help you we are going to need details.

Rock used, water used, equipment, filtration, testing. How you are cycling the tank.

It's very important to do  a lot of research on water chemistry, maintenance, cycling the tank.

• Like 1
6linewrasse

Hey Clown.. 

The rock I used was that of my old aquarium.. since I stopped with SW I put the rocks outside until last weekend. So they were there for approx 8 months. Now they are dead/dry rock and I thouroghly rinsed and washed them with RO & Saltwater. Then added them to my new tank. The tank has been running now for about 6 days. 

I also added caribsea live sand to assist with the nitrogen cycle. And bought a couple of small pieces of LR from my LFS with coraline algea to seed the dead rock. 

The water I got was premixed to 1.025 at the LFS and I pay p/l for the water. They told me that they used RO to mix and Dymax sea salt. 

I have a Dymax LED lighting module with 2x Functions, blue actinic which I think should be on during night and a bright white colour.( please tell me if you need pictures of these equipmemt) 

Also I have a basic 120w Heater which I have set to approx 28deg C.