ReefCleaners.org

20g nuvo stocking and aquascape

The Wiz

Hello everyone, 

I'd like to start by saying that although I just signed up for my own nano reef account, ive been lurking through these forums for months and have found a wealth of help and answered questions; this seems like a great and helpful community that I'm happy to now be a part of.

So I started my first nuvo 20 gallon nano reef and it has been up and running for just over a month now. This is my first attempt at saltwater, although I am not new to fishkeeping. Basically, im having second thoughts about some of my ideas and would just like to bounce them off of some experienced members who may be able to steer me away from making poor tank choices.

Here are some details of the tank:

- 20G nuvo fusion

- current USA LED light

- koralia hydor 425 gph

- 18-ish pounds BRS pukani dry rock

- 20 pounds live sand

- innovative marine custom caddy media baskets

-chemi pure blue

- 0 ammonia 0 nitrite 10ppm nitrate

- 1 ruby headed fairy wrasse

- 1 pygmy hawkfish

- 1 large electric blue hermit crab

- 1 medium trochus snail

- 1 small hermit crab

- 4 LPS frags

Things I plan to add:

- reef octopus HOB 1000 skimmer (already ordered should come this week)

- aquamaxx carbon and GFO reactor (to eventually replace the chemi pure blue)

- aquamaxx biopellet tumbler

- Larger clean up crew

- Leopard toby puffer

- Pygmy angelfish

So I'll start with the disclaimer that I know the fairy wrasse in the long run is probably too small for this tank and will most likely not be a permanent member of my reef community. However, she is very small right now (1.5") and seems to be thriving in my tank (hopefully I can upgrade before she grows too big and I have to take her back to my LFS)