Top Shelf Aquatics

Deciding on first tank - Nano

Heardjya

Hello all,

I'm brand new to the hobby. It has interested me for about 6 months now, and I think it's time I get my hands wet, both metaphorically and literally.

I'm primarily wanting to create a tank for coral reef. I have looked into numerous tanks, and have my final 2 picks. The jbj rimless 10g tank and the Innovative Marine NUVO 20g tank. I'm asking for opinions on which would be better in the end, for me. 

To start, my budget is set to a maximum of $1K startup including coral.

So far, the coral I have decided on are Zoanthids, Blastomussa, Pulsing Xenia, Scolymia, and Wellsophyllia (later on). I'm open to more ideas, but trying to avoid coral who grow significantly quicker, and coral like toadstool, who need significant space to really be happy while blocking light below them. I'd rather stay away from coral that shock as well.. but open to them. Some that add more motion, might be nice.

My main concern is lighting, flow, temperature, and filtration. Any experience with these two tanks and have suggested upgrades to go ahead and get with your suggested tank. I'm looking at getting the full start up kit for both tanks.

Currently my reasoning between the two are:

jbj - Cleaner design for my modern decor, would look more balanced/perfect in appearance with table it is to be on top. Clear top

IM -  More space for more coral, more forgiving on maintaining. Will look awkward, but steady on table. Two LED lighting for more controlled PAR? Don't like the meshed top.

I have a cat, that's why the top is relevant. She's well trained, but I'd rather be safe than sorry.

Location of table will receive very little natural light.