inTank Media Baskets

Discouraged!

JonathanDillio

JonathanDillio

Hey Guys,

If any of you have seen the couple of threads that I have already created then you already know that I am a newbie to the reefing world. After doing extensive research I have filled my amazon cart with over $700 worth of items and still need to get an RO/DI system and an ATO system (so about another $400). The tank that I am looking to buy is the BioCube 32. Does alsmost $1000 sound right to get a tank that size up and running? I knew I would be spending some serious money on this new hobby, but damn, I honestly didnt expect to drop that much just to get started. I feel that everything except the ATO system is 100% necessary but I  I would really like some input. 

Could anyone give an in depth list of the things that I should definitely buy to get my BioCube 32 up and running? I would really appreciate it.

Im going to attach some pictures of my current amazon list. Remembers this doesnt include the RO/DI system, ATO system, or the cured rock i want to get from Reef Cleaners

I really appreciate any input 

Capture.JPG

Capture 1.JPG

Capture 2.JPG

• Like 2
JonathanDillio
Just now, Travis said:

Yep, looks right to me. I just dropped 2 grand on a 70g setup

Dont get me wrong, I have the money to spend on it but I have NEVER been ok with spending money on myself. Its a weird "phobia", for lack of a better word, that I have had ever since I started making my own money when I was like 13. I have been so enthused about this whole process and then I added up my cart and almost had a panic attack.

• Like 3

If you cant stomach burning  $100 bills, this might not be for you. Lol

But seriously, yes this is an expensive hobby. Maybe instead of starting with $600 setup (tank and stand), you could get a simple 20 gallon tank and stand from petco. My first tank was a $15 10g tank from walmart that I setup ontop of a dresser. 

• Like 3
JonathanDillio
6 minutes ago, Travis said: