Top Shelf Aquatics

Cycling nano tank strange results so far

Recci

I am an experienced fresh water fish keeper and this is my first attempt at a salt water tank. Im setting up a dirt cheap 22L nano tank and i am currently in the middle of cycling it with live rock. 

I normally cycle my fresh water tanks using pure ammonia. The process is pretty simple and I thought id look into doing the same with the nano reef tank.

I set up my nano reef with live rock and pre-mixed salt water from a LFS. I placed a small bit of shrimp in the tank set my lights on an 8 hour a day timer and waited a week and there was no signs of life on the live rock or in the tank so I added 500g of live sand from an established system and a few drops of ammonia. After another week the tank was starting to become covered with brown algae this continued and I have started to get thick green algae and even red algae spots on the sand. I had read that the lights were meant to be on during the cycling process but then other threads on here say it should be off.

I realised that its probably due to the lighting that the algae problem has got so bad so I stopped the lights and its died back a bit but not gone. I tested the water with the api test kit and got no trace of ammonia, nitrite or nitrate.  So i accidentally dumped a big does of ammonia into the tank but after 3 or 4 days its gone and there is also no trace of nitrite or nitrate WTF??  In a fresh water tank if the ammonia was gone and there was no trace of nitrite you would expect a strong nitrate reading at this point. You would call the cycle done, do water change and add fish but i am confused here where is the nitrate? This is not following the normal process of ammonia readings, then nitrite and then nitrate.

The tank has only been cycling for about 3 and half weeks at this point.

There is no protein skimmer I am just using a heater, hang on the back filter and small power-head for flow.