Top Shelf Aquatics

Instant Ocean parameters

jeffmr4

I recently got some new Instant Ocean salt and didn't find a lot of information online about what it tests out at so I mixed up a batch and this is what I got,

1.026 or 35 ppt  Ph 8.2 - 8.4, Ca 440, Alk 11, Mg 1140

The magnesium seems very low. (I tested it twice)  If anyone else mixes up a batch and tests for magnesium, let me know what you get (or what you get from for everything)!  These readings might not always be the same from bag to bag but I thought it would be good to put this out there.

(a week later)

It sounds like from what I've read IO is notroriously low for magnesium.  I retested after a week with the same water mixing in a mostly closed container with a heater and these are the results,

I had to add a little top of water because some had evaporated which could have accounted for some of the drops,

1.026, ph 8.1-8.2, kh 10-11, ca 420, mg 1130

Edited by jeffmr4

Dont quote me, as I am brand new to the hobby. But I enjoy reading and read a lot. 

I read somewhere that magnesium tends to settle out in salt mixes, and stirring the mix prior to scooping for your water will help ensure even distribution. 

Don't know if it will help you, just thought I'd share.?

My numbers are much lower. I was just coming to ask the same sort of question. I mixed 5 gallons and got these numbers:

dKh.  5.2

Ca.    300

Mg.   800

Ph.    8.3

Something doesn't seem to be going right for my testing.

Edit: not the reef crystals. Regular Instant Ocean. Its a brand new tank.

Edited by JDSquared
More info
1 minute ago, jeffmr4 said:

Plain Instant Ocean.

I'm thinking of switching to red sea plain although I like fritz's alk level better than red sea's.

@JDSquared What's your salinity level?

Salinity was mixed to 1.025. Tank was at 1.024. Still is.

I haven't tested the tank since i added the new sw.

HarryPotter
50 minutes ago, braaap said:

Just buy Fritz RPM. Never have poor levels again. Problem solved.