inTank Media Baskets

12 gallon Mr Aqua.... Lessons learned.... 🤓

JcSH2o

Hello everyone! I'm brand new to the Reef world and new to the forum! 

I've had freshwater (and currently still do) but after researching and researching for the past 4mos I finally decided to start a Reef. So far I have purchased a Mr Aqua 12gallon long, and 20lbs of Pukani rock (so I had choices ?) and a Hanna Phosphorus meter, Red Sea Basic Reef tests, and Refractometer. That's it. 

Currently my brain is having a filtration battle. I don't have space for a sump, and I'd prefer to keep the tank as clear of devices as possible.

My battle is between a canister with glass lily tubes and maybe a Reef glass skimmer OR an Aquaclear 110 with the Tunze 9001. I would appreciate any thoughts on this as I start scaping and planning the rest of my tank! Thanks in advance!

As I learn, I discover NEW questions! ?? I've changed the title of thread to reflect my continual curiosity.... Bear with me! Or am I supposed to start new threads... hmmm ?

• Like 1

Canisters are not favourable for reefs. Unfortunately if not regularly cleaned they become nutrient factories. 

If you don't want hob filter than the other options are nothing, rely on waterchanges or skimmer.

Not sure how you'd run media though?

You will need a powerhead and lighting for corals

5 minutes ago, Clown79 said:

Canisters are not favourable for reefs. Unfortunately if not regularly cleaned they become nutrient factories. 

If you don't want hob filter than the other options are nothing, rely on waterchanges or skimmer.

Not sure how you'd run media though?

You will need a powerhead and lighting for corals

Thank you for the reply. ? Yes I am prepared to clean the filter weekly, that doesn't bother me. My thought with the canister was initially just for carbon or chemipure and some floss that I'd swap out when cleaning.