Innovative Marine Aquariums

Helpppp please :)

haleschristine

haleschristine

Obviously I am new to this but I am completely confused as to what I can actually put in my tank. I started with freshwater and am making the transition but from what I understand the rules are different on stocking. 

It is a 10 gallon nano with 10 pounds of live rock as well as live sand. It's been running for about 3  weeks now and I believe it should be done cycling this weekend. Tested today with the below results. 

Calcium 420 
Salinity 1.021
Dkh 12/ KH 214.8
Nitrates 10ppm
Phosphate .25 
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 10

If done cycling, this weekend I plan to take my water sample to my lfs and have them test as well. I have recently learned the API freshwater test kit works on saltwater but has different color charts. But of course want to double check. If they confirm that everything is good, I would like to begin stocking slowly. Possibly with a snail or crab of some type. 

However, I feel I need to develop a long run stock plan prior to purchasing anything. I hope to keep corals mainly, (also, is there a limit with a nano tank? I see some that are loaded) with a few inverts (snails, crabs, etc,-how many would you recommend?) and maybe a fish or two if possible. With my fish-I prefer bright colored and energetic. And maybe a sand sifting sea star if possible ... I really just want a starfish but learned they aren't reef compatible. Any advice on the best stocking ideas?

Also if anyone has any ideas on why my coralline algae in the far left rock is turning colors. Please let a girl know. 

IMG_6092.JPG

docshipwreck

Have you you been testing consistently to see ammonia rise then fall then nitrates rise? did you only cycle with established live rock? any bacteria supplements?

Pictures and angles are sometimes unforgiving but perhaps too much rock for that smaller tank...lots of space for corals but not much for anything to move around in stockwise.