Coral Vue Hydros

skoch

I have used this site so much in my research that I thought it would be best to chronicle my journey here.  I am new to reefing and after half a dozen books and countless hours online I finally took the plunge and bought an IM Fusion Peninsula 20.  

For lighting I found a good deal on a Current Orbit Marine PRO 24" and so far I really like it (but then again, I'm new so not much to compare it too).  I also swapped out the filter sock for an inTank media basket and changed the stock pump to an Eheim compact 1000 after a few days of dealing with the noise (this tank is on my custom built work desk).  The tank has 20 lbs of live rock from the LFS and 10 lbs of CaribSea Ocean Direct sand.  I also added a Jebao SW-2 powerhead to the back wall and an IM Hydrofill hooked up to a TOM Aqua Lifter for ATO.  There is a 75w Cobalt Neo-Therm heater in the third chamber as well.  Here it is the day I flooded it:

590a783f1260e_2017-04-1512_13_05.thumb.jpg.195e1e0edfcaed812b3755c55fd3680b.jpg

I mixed my own salt with RO water from the LFS that I transported back to my house in truckload of Home Depot buckets.  I used Tropic Marin Bio-Actif and did the mixing in a new Rubbermaid Brute 28 gallon recycle bin with a heater and cheap powerhead.  I installed my new RO/DI system a few days later and my TDS is zero.  I rigged it up so I could bypass the deionization if I wanted drinking water.  Here it all is under the sink:

590a7c455ea15_2017-05-0319_47_25.thumb.jpg.e96afd809f24aa1081c6cc921598fc83.jpg