Top Shelf Aquatics

Lighting duration

Minmay

Hi all, so I have fluval 13.5g AIO. I turn on the daytime lights at 7am and turn on blue light at 2pm and the blue light stays on until next morning 7am....So, would you say that 8hrs daytime lights and rest blue light is fine for the corals I have as listed below. Thank u

Candy cane

Acan

Various Mushrooms

GSP

Clove polyps 

Are you running the stock lights?  I am no expert but running the actinic all night seems like too much to me. Your critters should have a lights out/dark period as part of a natural cycle. 

I also have the EVO 13.5 and have been using the stock light. I haven't been able to find a timer yet that can control the light from blue to white and back, so i've been doing it manually.  I turn the actinic on first thing when I get up ~6am and then switch to the whites around 7:30-8 depending on when I leave for work. I turn them back to the actinic setting when I get home around 5:00-5:30 PM and then off completely around 8:00-8:30 PM.  I'm pretty sure this is too much light but I don't have an option for something more customizable at this time.  I think my zoas are unhappy with the amount of light as they havent really fully extended since being added to the tank.  I will be moving them lower in the tank this weekend to see if this helps with the light intensity.  All of my other corals seem to be doing well.  

• Like 1
CronicReefer

There is no reason to ever have moonlights unless you are attempting to create moon cycles. Nighttime on the reef is extremely dark except under brightly lit moon nights and even then it is still dark. Set up a normal 12-14hr daytime cycle using the blues for dawn/sunset and the whites+blues for mid day.

• Like 1
2 hours ago, TheBig053 said:

Are you running the stock lights?  I am no expert but running the actinic all night seems like too much to me. Your critters should have a lights out/dark period as part of a natural cycle.