Cultivated Reef

T5 lights for a 12 gallon nano

Braun036

I have a question about T5 lights. I am kinda new to this, I successfully ran a tank about 15 years ago and it is amazing how fast you forget stuff. So I have a 12 gallon nano tank with I guess 4 T5 lights on the hood. Will those lights be strong enough to maintain healthy corals and how long should I leave them on per day? The tank right now is cycling and has been for about a week! Should the lights be on during the  cycling process or should I leave the tank dark?  

IMG_1236.JPG

Are the t5 lights in a separate T5HO fixture or are they in a hood for an all in one tank?

Leave it dark while cycling. 

Also, :welcome: to N-R!!

They are 12 inches long and yes they are in all in one for the tank! And thank you for the advice on leaving the tank in the dark. Will I experience  algae  bloom when I start running the lights? 

Nano sapiens

My Cadlights 12g used to have these 12" tubes stock.  I used to run (2) Daylight and (2) actinic (blue).  You can keep moderate and lower light loving corals (which covers most of the easier corals).

If the lights are on two power cords (as I suspect they are), then you can put the Actinic on one timer and run it for up to 12 hrs, and the daylight run for around 10 hrs on second timer.  This will give the corals a good amount of light (to compensate a bit for the moderate intensity) and a 'Ramp-up' and 'Ramp-down' effect, too.

Start running the lights once your tank is cycled. 

You may have an algae bloom but you will be able to add snails at that point to combat it. 

That light should be perfectly fine for soft corals, which is what you said you wanted on another thread.

As for fish, you could do 1 Clownfish, some of the smaller Gobies (there are plenty to choose from), smaller Blennies, inverts like Shrimp, that kind of thing. 

Read tank threads for people who have tanks this size and see what you enjoy and are drawn to.