Innovative Marine Aquariums

20L to AIO peninsula tank planning stage

Oracus

I am planning on converting my spare 20L to an AIO peninsula tank. After trying to find dimensions on the filtration chamber that others have done and coming up empty. I thought why not replicate the IM Fusion10/Peninsula 20 setup minus the sock filter. Right now it will be made of 1/4 black acrylic. This tank will replace my current 8g. Then come here and inquire to recommended changes as I am still new to tank construction. Only modification i foresee is the depth of the chambers might need to be bigger so I can fit my hand in. 

58d40308a53f9_20peninsulafiltration.JPG.026d210285bc941117ee137e92eb254d.JPG

58d403521d546_Filtration2.JPG.19e66757d833e2d0fe7b9abcf738ed38.JPG

holy yes measure your hand, width and depth when you make a fist. I did not do this and trying to grab a fallen chemipure bag is a royal pain. Also if 1/8 is cheaper and in the color you want, go for it. It doesnt have to withstand any net pressure

• Like 1
  • 2 weeks later...

Thanks for that! I just sent a price request. As I just got home from vacation I was going to buy my acrylic this week but Ill wait till i hear back from these guys.

6 minutes ago, Oracus said:

The ocean box kit is $180 for a 20long.  The Octoaquatics guy actually responded very fast to my inquiry less than 5 mins. 20 long short side is $65 +shipping

1 minute ago, Outofstock said:

https://www.nano-reef.com/forums/forum/198-octo-aquatics/

Octo is a forum sponsor too. Built one of my aquarium tops, very quick with responses and getting product out too. 

Cool, good deal. 

• Like 1

After so more thinking and math, if I make the chambers 4" deep that puts the display area about 15.1 gallons before substrate and rock. Going to use my Kessil A80 for lighting and my Phosban 150 media reactor. That leaves me needing a return pump, heater, and wave maker to get it going.